RENEWAL OF A CURRENT/ACTIVE LICENSE OR REGISTRATION
For a Florida cosmetologist, Nail Tech (Nail Specialty Registration), or Esthetician (Facial Specialty Registration), to maintain and renew their license Florida law requires that they complete 16 hours of continuing education, during each biennial license renewal cycle. For a licensee to receive credit for the completion of any continuing education course the course must be submitted to the Board for approval prior to its being taught, by a licensed continuing education provider, the course must be approved by the state and the course must be current and valid.
COURSE SUBMISSION AND APPROVAL PROCESS AND COURSE APPROVAL NUMBER
For a licensee to receive credit for the completion of any continuing education course the course must be submit to the board for approval prior to its being taught. An application for course approval to be accepted requires that an approved licensed provider of continuing education submit the application. The board reviews the course for content, format, structure, and regulatory compliance, after which, provided the board determines that the course follows Floridaís continuing education rules and laws and the course training material possess educational value, a course identification number is assigned to the course and approval is granted for the course to be offered using the training method requested in the application for course approval, such as home study, Internet based training, video, or class room method. Courses that receive approval are valid for two years from the time approval was granted. Courses must be re-submitted and re-approved before the course approval expiration date, otherwise the course becomes invalid and cannot be offered as continuing education, licensees who complete an expired continuing education course do not earn credit for the course training hours because the course is not valid, which makes the training credits not valid. By law providers must present the course number assigned to the course during the approval process on the face of the course training material, and on any advertisement intended to promote sales of the course. The validity of a course can be determined by recording the course approval number, contacting the state, and asking for information about the course assigned to the course number.
BOARD APPROVED TRAINING METHODS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES
The different continuing education course training methods approved by the Florida board are, classroom, seminar or conference method presented at a trade show, video training courses, home study courses, and Internet computer based training. Courses offered by licensed continuing education providers must be approved for each type of training method the course will be taught using. Simply put a home study course cannot be taught by classroom method, unless the board approved the course to be taught using both classroom training method, and/or either home study method.
CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE CREDIT HOURS AND COURSE CONTENT
The Florida law outlines specific subject mater that must be covered as part of the 16-hours of training that must completed, the law also designates the amount of training measured in credit hours for each of the specific areas of study. An important detail of meeting education requirements for license renewal is knowing the correct course and credit hours designated by law that must be completed. Courses which cover the mandatory subject matter can be completed individually for each of the required areas of study, so long as each course is approved by the board for license renewal purposes, and that its current, meaning it has not expired, and that it equals the required number of hours needed for that particular area of study.
PRODUCT SPECIFIC TRAINING CANNOT GAIN BOARD APPROVAL PROGRAM
Continuing education courses also cannot be based on or around a commercial brand or a commercial product, it cannot be proprietary, or product related. For example the board will not grant approval for a course to be offered as continuing education that covers hair color techniques based on a particular brand of hair color. Nor would a course based on training the proper application and correct usage of a particular type of body wax be granted board approval. Training must be non-specific as to any commercial product and have general application across a broad range of diverse products. Such as would be in the case of a demonstration on proper hand washing procedures using any brand of anti-bacterial hand soap.
COVERING ALL CONTINUING EDUCATION CONDITIONS OF RENEWAL IN ONE PROGRAM
Home study and Internet based training courses which cover the mandatory subject matter can also be completed as a combined continuing education program that includes all of the required subjects, topics, and subtopics outlined by Florida law in one comprehensive 16 hour continuing education program, so long as it is approved by the board, each subject is equal to or more than the credit hours required for that particular area of study as set forth by law, and it is current. Choosing a 16-hour comprehensive continuing education program that includes the correct number of training hours for each of the required areas of study is the best way to be certain the correct number of hours for each of the required areas of study are completed and secure that every continuing education condition of license renewal are satisfied. Doing this reduces organizational time and effort, as the 16-hour ceu programs are strategically designed by the provider and submitted by them to the board for approval in a format which includes the required amount of training hour credits for each mandatory area of study.
LICENSE OR REGISTRATION EXPIRATION - THE DELINQUENT/ACTIVE STATUS
Failure to complete the requirements on time affects the license or registration status, and increases the amount of fees, owed to the state. The status changes to active/delinquent when requirements are not met before the renewal cycle deadline. Under Florida law a licensee or registrant is not permitted to provide services for compensation, meaning they canít legally work. Licensees or registrants that arenít current active found working are given large fines, as is the salon owner of the salons they are found working in. For a licensee or registrant with an expired license or registration to recover an active/current status they must complete any outstanding license renewal requirements that they are delinquent in, this can be done so far as they do it within the time designated by law.
EXPIRED DELINQUENT/ACTIVE STATUS TO NULL AND VOID - LICENSE NO LONGER VALID
The law designates that licenses and registrations that remain expired, with an active/delinquent status past the deadline of the second renewal cycle then become null and void. To regain a current/active status for a license or registration that is in the renewal period for the second renewal cycle all outstanding renewal requirements for the previous renewal cycle in which the license or registration expired must be satisfied, as well as meeting all the conditions of license renewal for the second, or current renewal cycle to recover their license or registration. It is not enough to complete the delinquent requirements from the previous renewal cycle to keep an expired license or registration from becoming null and void after the renewal deadline of the second renewal cycle, when the expired license or registration is nearing the end of the second renewal cycle. An example of this would be a license that expired on the renewal deadline of October 31, 2007 cannot be renewed by completing the outstanding renewal requirements to a 2009 expiration date, there by protecting it from becoming null and void. Unless the license holder completes all conditions of license renewal for the second renewal cycle as well, even though all renewal requirements have been met for the first renewal period the license will still be given a null and void status by the state after the October 31st renewal deadline of the current renewal cycle, thus rendering it invalid. License holders and specialty registrants who have an expired license or registration from a previous renewal cycle, that are not aware they must meet all conditions for renewal for both cycles are at risk of ending up with a null and void license or registration status.
A null and void license occurs if a license or registration expires, and is not redeemed before the next renewal period deadline. An example would be a license that expired on October 31, 2007 becomes null and void if it remains expired after October 31, 2009. A license or registration that is null and void is no longer valid, and cannot be renewed. Credit cannot be earned by completing continuing education for a license renewal course when a license is null and void, therefore there is no reason to complete continuing education with a null and void license or registration, because it doesnít count. It would be a waste of time and money.
NULL AND VOID STATUS RETURNED TO A CURRENT/ACTIVE LICENSE OR REGISTRATION
Even with a null and void license or registration it is possible to return to an active/current status. The process followed to regain a license or registration that is null and void requires a person to re-apply to the Board of Cosmetology for a new license or registration. This is done by completing a license or registration application packet, which spells out all conditions of licensing, that must be satisfied as part of the application process, which include paying fees, completing forms, and submitting them along with a certificate of course completion earned from completing a 4-hour HIV/AIDS salon training course. Applications for license or registration come with instructions. The instructions explain that completing a board approved course on the subject of HIV/AIDS must be done as a condition of the application and that the certificate of course completion for the board approved HIV/AIDS salon training course be submitted with the application packet as proof the course was completed. The application packet instructions do not include for the board approved HIV/AIDS salon training course to meet application requirements that the course must provide 4-hours of training credit, and that not only must the 4-hour HIV/AIDS salon training course be board approved, but that it must be board approved specifically for meeting the license or registration application requirement for HIV/AIDS training. The instructions do provide contact information and offer that if there are any questions to call for details. A quick phone call to the state is all it takes for an applicant to find out all of the details needed to determine which board approved HIV/AIDS course works for satisfying the application requirement for HIV/AIDS training. It is always best to make the call, instead of trying to figure out what the application allows. It is always best to ask someone that knows with certainty, than to reason it out
4-HOUR HIV/AIDS COURSE APPROVED TO MEET THE APPLICATION TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
Earning the correct certificate requires the successful completion of a board approved 4-hour HIV/AIDS salon-training course that the board approved specifically for satisfying the application training requirements. If a certificate of course completion is submitted to the state as part of an application for a license or registration that doesnít come from an HIV/AIDS course the board approved for the application process it will be rejected and credit for completing the (unapproved for licensing) course will be denied. Processing of the application will be halted until a certificate is received that was earned by completing a 4-hour HIV/AIDS salon-training course approved by the board for the application process
BOARD APPROVED HIV/AIDS COURSES REJECTED FOR THE PURPOSE OF THE LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS
A common error is made when the certificate of course completion for a 16-hour continuing education program approved by the board for purposes of license renewal is submitted with an application for a license or registration. The error occurs by thinking the HIV/AIDS course contained in all 16-hour license renewal programs will meet the application requirement to complete an HIV/AIDS course and submit the certificate, because the state approved it and because it has an HIV/AIDS course contained within. This is incorrect thinking. This is not how it works and submitting a certificate for the completion of a program approved for license renewal does not meet license or registration application requirements. Consequently, in such an instance, processing of the application is halted pending a certificate be submitted from a 4-hour HIV/AIDS course approved by the board specifically for satisfying license or registration application requirements for HIV/AIDS training. Because the board approves HIV/AIDS salon training for purposes other than the application process, applicants should be aware that because a course covers HIV/AIDS and because the board approved the course that any board approved HIV/AIDS course is acceptable when applying to get a license. If this sounds confusing it is because it can be, which is why an explanation is being given here.
BOARD APPROVED 4-HOUR HIV/AIDS COURSE ACCEPTED TO MEET APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS
For an application to be granted the correct board approved HIV/AIDS training course must be completed, the certificate for which must be submitted to the board along with all other application packet documentation and fees. However, knowing this makes it possible to be accomplished, and eliminates processing delays that could otherwise occur. The 4-hour HIV/AIDS Salon Awareness course offered at this Web site is board approved specifically for the license or registration process. By submitting the certificate of course completion from the 4-hour HIV/AIDS salon training course offered here, it is guaranteed that the HIV/AIDS salon training application requirement has been met and that application processing will not be halted for failure to complete the correct course.
The 4-hour HIV/AIDS Salon Awareness course